一、总则

本 Stratus 软件产品生命周期策略(以下简称“软件生命周期策略”或“策略”)旨在帮助我们的合作伙伴和最终用户(以下简称“客户”)有效地计划、部署和支持 Stratus 软件产品,以及更好地管理运行 Stratus 软件产品关键系统的持续使用、支持级别和停用过渡。此外,我们的客户可借助本策略来了解 Stratus 如何在我们软件产品的整个生命周期内最好地帮助他们,包括在新旧平台、软件和服务之间迁移时所需的计划和准备。

Stratus 在规定时期内为我们软件产品的主要版本(即版本 5.0、6.0 和 7.0)提供支持和维护。通过与 Stratus 软件产品相关的生命周期,可确定在从最初发布日期 — 或全面上市 (GA) 日期 — 到生产阶段结束这段时期内为该产品的每个版本提供的各个支持级别(“阶段”)。

生命周期阶段

根据产品类型,Stratus 软件产品的生命周期一般为三年或七年。总体上,如本策略中所述,从 Stratus 软件产品每个主要版本的全面上市日期开始,Stratus 提供为期 4 年的全面支持。对于某些 Stratus 产品(如下所述),可购买可选的附加延长生命周期支持 (ELS) 服务级别,以便将生命周期最多额外延长三 (3) 年。

兼容性

Stratus 的目标是在软件产品系列的整个生命周期内保持兼容性。对于给定产品系列,会对照先前版本对维护和次要版本进行测试和资格验证。Stratus 将作出商业合理的努力来提供与初始主要版本(例如 5.0)的兼容性。如果出现不兼容的情况,则将在发行说明中记录这些情况,或者将这些情况报告为故障。

变更管理

Stratus 致力于随时间降低每个主要版本中的更改级别,从而提高可预测性以及降低维护成本。在产品系列的整个支持生命周期内,具有有效软件支持协议的客户可获得已发布的补丁和次要版本。Stratus 发布和更新产品生命周期矩阵,以便努力做到尽可能透明地提供,但如果出现 Stratus 无法控制的不可预见冲突(例如依赖组件或平台停用 (EOL)),则这些策略可能有例外情况。本策略的副本以及当前软件产品生命周期矩阵(软件支持矩阵)位于 Stratus 网站上:

软件产品生命周期矩阵(美洲、EMEA、亚太)
软件产品生命周期矩阵(日本)

版本

一般来说,Stratus 软件产品的每个主要版本在其整个支持期内加以维护和支持。次要版本将汇集先前补丁的内容,并且可能添加额外的新功能。

补丁管理

 

Stratus 软件产品的补丁更新在可用时通过软件下载提供。补丁可根据需求单独发布,或者包含在维护版本(例如版本 5.0.1、5.0.2)中。

增强功能

增强功能一般包含在主要和次要版本中。后续补丁将基于它们之前的次要更新,并且需要安装这些次要更新。在整个生命周期内,Stratus 作出商业合理的努力在所有次要版本和异步补丁间保持兼容性。

二、Stratus 软件产品生命周期阶段

Stratus 软件产品主要版本的支持生命周期分为三个阶段:全面支持、生产(有限)支持和延伸支持。

第 1 阶段:全面支持

开始日期:全面支持阶段从主要版本的全面上市日期开始,为期 4 年。

全面支持包括执行根源分析,推荐规避方法、更新和热修复。您还可从以下方面获益:

  • 具有全天候服务级别的全面技术支持
  • 访问客户门户和自助资源
  • 访问所有补丁和整合的服务包
  • 安全告警和关键补丁更新。

第 2 阶段:生产支持(也称为“有限”支持)

开始日期:生产支持在主要版本的全面支持结束时开始,持续时间为当前软件支持矩阵中阐明的期限。

生产支持包括仅针对关键和严重问题的合理最佳努力根源分析。在生产支持阶段不提供热修复。用户必须进行升级才能获得热修复。

生产支持面向具有全面支持并且在全面支持阶段已过后继续使用软件产品的客户。在全面支持期结束时,产品将进入生产支持阶段,并且将保持在生产支持阶段最多三 (3) 年,如当前 Stratus 软件产品生命周期策略矩阵中所述。在生产支持阶段,您将从以下方面获益:

  • 具有全天候服务级别的技术支持
  • 访问客户门户和自助资源
  • 访问现有补丁、规避方法和整合的服务包
  • 访问所有现有安全告警和更新。

第 3 阶段:延伸生产支持(可选)

开始日期:Stratus 以可选服务形式提供延伸生产支持 (EPS)。延伸支持可为您的组织提供宝贵的额外时间,您可能需要利用这些时间来计划到 Stratus 最新软件的迁移。有关更多信息,请联系 Stratus。

延伸生产支持包括仅针对关键和严重问题的合理最佳努力根源分析。在延伸支持期间不提供热修复。用户必须进行升级才能获得热修复。延伸生产支持将按溢价提供,费用每年增加,并且每年进行审核。

产品生命周期阶段

权利 全面支持 生产支持 延伸生产支持
次要版本和补丁
升级
客户门户和自助工具 
无限事件技术支持 

 

三、生命周期持续时间

Stratus 软件产品生命周期一般为三年或七年,如下所述。总体上,如本策略中所述,从关键 Stratus 软件产品每个主要版本的全面上市日期开始,Stratus 提供为期 4 年的全面支持。此策略和软件产品支持生命周期的最新版本发布在:

软件产品生命周期矩阵(美洲、EMEA、亚太)
软件产品生命周期矩阵(日本)

长产品生命周期

七年的长产品生命周期适用于关键 Stratus 产品,例如 everRun 软件。如下所述,七年周期包括四年的全面支持和三年的生产支持。在单独承保范围和服务级别协议下可获得超出七年的延伸支持(“延伸寿命支持”)。

长产品生命周期图

第 1 阶段全面支持 第 2 阶段生产支持 第 3 阶段延伸生产支持
4 年 3 年 1 年,每年审核
第 1 年 第 2 年 第 3 年 第 4 年 第 5 年 第 6 年 第 7 年 超过 8 年

短产品生命周期

三年的短产品生命周期适用于有针对性的短生命周期产品,例如第三方附加产品。短产品生命周期仅包含一个阶段,即全面支持阶段。

生命周期矩阵

单击以下位置,查看所有 Stratus 软件产品的生命周期日期:

软件产品生命周期矩阵(美洲、EMEA、亚太)
软件产品生命周期矩阵(日本)

四、术语定义

  • 全面上市 (GA) 日期:Stratus 宣布某一软件产品或服务向公众售卖的日期。
  • 停止销售 (EOS) 日期:Stratus 宣布某一软件产品或服务不再销售的日期。
  • 支持寿命终止 (EOSL) 日期:Stratus 宣布 Stratus 不再普遍支持某一软件产品或服务的日期。
  • 恢复费:支持恢复费适用于选择重新激活已失效的 Stratus 支持合同的客户,或者在已过产品的标准保修期后选择激活 Stratus 支持合同的客户。此费用已添加到 Stratus 支持合同的费用中。恢复费可确保所有客户均摊所有 Stratus 软件产品持续改进的成本。
  • 主要版本(也称升级版本):“主要版本”也称为“升级版本”,是指包含增强或扩展功能的全面上市的软件版本,Stratus 通过更改第一个小数点左侧的数字来指定其版本号(例如软件 5.0)。
  • 次要版本:“次要版本”是指引入有限数量的新特性或功能的全面上市的软件版本,Stratus 通过更改第一个小数点右侧的数字来指定其版本号。 例如,软件 5.0(即主要版本)变为软件 5.1(即次要版本)。
  • 维护版本(也称更新版本):“维护版本”或“更新版本”,是指一般仅提供维护修正或修复的全面上市的软件版本,Stratus 通过更改第二个小数点右侧的数字来指定其版本号。例如,软件 5.0(即主要版本)变为软件 5.0.1(维护版本)。

五、版本编号惯例摘要

  • 主要版本 = 软件 5.0、6.0 和 7.0
  • 次要版本 = 软件 5.1、5.2 和 5.3
  • 维护版本 = 软件 5.0.1、5.0.2 和 5.0.3

本文包含的信息在本文发布之日时被认为是准确的,但可能定期发布更新和修订,恕不另行通知。STRATUS 不提供涉及这些信息的任何保证,并且明确表示不承担与本文信息有关的任何损害的责任,包括但不限于直接、间接、后果性、附带和特殊损害。

Lifecycle Policy

I. General

This Stratus software product lifecycle policy (“Software Lifecycle Policy” or “Policy”) is designed to help our partners and end users (“customers”) effectively plan, deploy, and support Stratus software products and to better manage the ongoing use, the levels of support and the end-of-life transitions of critical systems running Stratus software products. In addition, our customers can use this Policy to help understand how Stratus can best assist them throughout the support lifecycle of our software products, including the planning and preparation required when migrating between old and new platforms, software and services.

Stratus provides support and maintenance over stated time periods for the Major Releases of our software products (i.e., releases 5.0, 6.0 and 7.0). The lifecycle associated with a Stratus software product identifies the various levels (“Phases”) of support for each release of that product over a period of time from the date of initial release—or general availability (GA)—to the end of the production phase.

Lifecycle periods

Stratus software product lifecycles are generally three or seven years in length, depending on the product type. In general, as stated in this Policy, Stratus provides Full Support for a period of 4 years from the GA date of each Major Release of a Stratus software product. For certain Stratus products (as described below), an optional add-on Extended Lifecycle Support (ELS) service level may be purchased to extend the lifecycle by up to three (3) additional years.

Compatibility

Stratus’s goal is to maintain compatibility across the full lifecycle of a software product family. Maintenance and Minor Releases are tested and qualified against prior releases for a given product family. Stratus will use commercially reasonable efforts to provide compatibility with the initial Major Release (e.g., 5.0). Where incompatibilities arise, these will be documented in the release notes or may be reported as bugs.

Change Management

Stratus works to reduce the level of change within each Major Release over time, thus increasing predictability and decreasing maintenance costs. Released patches and Minor Releases will remain accessible to those customers with active software support agreements for the entire support lifecycle of a product family. Stratus publishes and updates product lifecycle matrices in an effort to provide as much transparency as possible but may make exceptions from these Policies if unforeseeable conflicts arise (such as the end-of-life (EOL) of a dependent component or platform) that are outside of Stratus’s control. A copy of this Policy and the then current software product lifecycle matrices (Software Support Matrices”) can be found on the Stratus website at:

Software Product Lifecycle Matrices (Americas, EMEA, APAC)
Software Product Lifecycle Matrices (Japan)

Releases

Generally, each Major Release of a Stratus software product is maintained and supported through its Full Support period. Minor Releases will aggregate the contents of prior patches and may add additional new functionality.

Patch Management

Patch Updates to Stratus software products, if and when available, are delivered via software download. Patches can be released individually on an as-needed basis, or included in a Maintenance Release (e.g., release 5.0.1, 5.0.2).

Feature Enhancements

Feature enhancements are generally introduced in Major and Minor Releases. Subsequent patches will be based on and require the installation of Minor updates that precede them. During the entire lifecycle, Stratus makes commercially reasonable efforts to maintain compatibility across all Minor Releases and asynchronous patches.

II. Stratus Software Product Lifecycle Phases

The support lifecycle for a Major Release of Stratus software products is divided into three phases: Full Support, Production (Limited) Support and Extended Support.

Phase 1: Full Support

Start Date: The Full Support phase begins on the GA date of a Major Release and continues for a period of 4 years thereafter.

Full Support includes performing root cause analysis, recommending a workaround, upgrades, and hot fixes. You also benefit from:

  • Full technical support with up to 24 x 7 x 365 day service levels
  • Access to Customer Portal and self help resources
  • Access to all patches and consolidated service packs
  • Security alerts and critical patch updates.

Phase 2: Production Support (also referred to as “Limited” support)

Start Date: At the end of the Full Support period of a Major Release, the Production Support begins and is continued for the period set forth in the then current Software Support Matrices.

Production Support includes reasonable best effort root cause analysis only for critical and serious issues. During the Production Support phase, there will be no hot fixes. Users will be required to upgrade to obtain hot fixes.

Production Support is provided for customers with Full Support who continue to use a Software product past its Full Support phase. Products will enter the Production Support phase at the end of the Full Support period and will remain in the Production Support phase for a period of up to three (3) additional years as set forth in the then current Stratus Software Product Lifecycle Policy Matrices. During the Production Support phase, you benefit from:

  • Technical support with up to 24×7, 365 day service levels
  • Access to Customer Portal and self help resources
  • Access to all existing patches, workarounds, and consolidated service packs
  • Access to all existing security alerts and updates.

Phase 3: Extended Production Support (optional)

Start Date: Stratus offers Extended Production Support (EPS) as an optional offering. Extended Support provides your organization the valuable extra time you may need to plan your migration to Stratus’ latest software. Contact Stratus for more information.

EPS includes reasonable best effort root cause analysis only for critical and serious issues. During the Extended Support period, there will be no hot fixes. Users will be required to upgrade to obtain hot fixes. EPS will be offered at a premium, in yearly increments and reviewed annually.

Product Lifecycle Phases

Entitlement Full Support Production Support Extended Production Support
Minor Releases and Patches Yes No No
Upgrade Yes Yes Yes
Customer portal and self help tools  Yes Yes Yes
Unlimited-incident technical support  Yes Yes Yes

 

III. Lifecycle Duration

Stratus Software product lifecycles are generally three or seven years in length as described below. In general, as stated in this Policy, Stratus provides Full Support for a period of 4 years from the GA date of each Major Release of a key Stratus software product. The most current version of this Policy and support lifecycle of software products is published at:

Software Product Lifecycle Matrices (Americas, EMEA, APAC)
Software Product Lifecycle Matrices (Japan)

Long-life Product Lifecycle

A Long-life Product Lifecycle of seven years is applied to key Stratus products, such as everRun Software. As depicted below, the seven-year cycle includes four years of Full Support and three years of Production Support. Extensions beyond the seventh year (“Extended Life Support”) are available under a separate scope of coverage and service level agreement.

Long-life Product Lifecycle Chart

Phase 1 Full Support Phase 2 Production Support Phase 3 Extended Production Support
4 Years 3 Years 1 Year reviewed annually
Year 1 Year 2 Year 3 Year 4 Year 5 Year 6 Year 7 Year 8+

Short-life Product Lifecycle

A Short-life Product Lifecycle of three years is applied to targeted short lifecycle products such as a third party add-on product. The Short-life Product Lifecycle is composed of one phase, the Full Support Phase.

Lifecycle Matrices

Click below to see the listed Lifecycle dates for all Stratus Software Products:

Software Product Lifecycle Matrices (Americas, EMEA, APAC)
Software Product Lifecycle Matrices (Japan)

IV. Definition of Terms

  • General Availability (GA) date: The date on which Stratus announces a software product or service is made generally available for purchase.
  • End-of-Sale (EOS) date: The date on Stratus announces a software product or service is no longer offered for purchase.
  • End-of-Support-Life (EOSL) date: The date on which Stratus announces a software product or service is no longer generally supported by Stratus.
  • Reinstatement Fee: A Support Reinstatement Fee is a charge that applies to any customer who chooses to re-activate a lapsed Stratus support contract or who chooses to activate a Stratus Support contract after the standard warranty period for their product has expired. The fee is added to the cost of the Stratus Support Contract. The reinstatement fee ensures that all customers share equally in the cost of continual improvements to all Stratus software products.
  • Major release (aka Upgrade Release): “Major Release” also known as an “Upgrade” means a generally available release of the Software that contains functional enhancements or extensions, designated by Stratus by means of a change in the digit to the left of the first decimal point (e.g. Software 5.0).
  • Minor Release: “Minor Release” means a generally available release of the Software that introduces a limited amount of new features and functionality, designated by Stratus by means of a change in the digit to the right of the first decimal point.  For example Software 5.0 (i.e. Major Release) changes to Software 5.1 (i.e. Minor Release).
  • Maintenance Release (aka Update Release): “Maintenance Release” or “Update” means a generally available release of the Software that typically provides maintenance corrections or fixes only, designated by Stratus by means of a change in the digit to the right of the second decimal point. For example Software 5.0 (i.e. Major Release) becomes Software 5.0.1 (Maintenance Release).

V. Release Numbering Convention Summary

  • Major Release = Software 5.0, 6.0 and 7.0
  • Minor Release = Software 5.1, 5.2 and 5.3
  • Maintenance Release = Software 5.0.1, 5.0.2 and 5.0.3

The information contained herein is believed to be accurate as of the date of publication, but updates and revisions may be posted periodically and without notice. STRATUS DOES NOT PROVIDE ANY WARRANTIES COVERING THIS INFORMATION AND SPECIFICALLY DISCLAIMS ANY LIABILITY FOR DAMAGES, INCLUDING, WITHOUT LIMITATION, DIRECT, INDIRECT, CONSEQUENTIAL, INCIDENTAL, AND SPECIAL DAMAGES, IN CONNECTION WITH THE INFORMATION PRESENTED HERE.

Share