可用性

并非所有的可用性都是一样的

什么是可用性?

可用性是衡量系统持续运行水平的一种方式。可用性指系统的实际运行(或运行服务)时间,除以系统本应运行的时间。

典型的可用性衡量标准是什么?

人们通常用几个"9"来划分可用性等级,并进一步描述为“高可用"或“容错。”如果一个系统在99%的时间内都是可用的(2个9水平),那就意味着它在1%的时间内是不可用的。如果一年有525,600分钟可用时间,那么您可以预测到"2个9水平"的系统会有5,256分钟或88小时,或4天处于停机状态。根据您具体的 停机时间,代价可能是非常昂贵的。

可用性 几个 9 每年的停机时间 通常被描述为
99.9% 3个9 不超过526分钟 可用
99.99% 4个9 不超过53分钟 高可用
99.999% 5个9 不超过5分钟 容错

如果系统的平均可用性水平为"4个9"或"5个9",则通常被称为"高可用"或"容错"系统。

通常有哪些方法可以提高可用性?

企业可采用多种已得到验证的方法来提高可用性,包括提高系统的可靠性和恢复力,实施备份和恢复程序,或部署提供故障转移服务的(物理或虚拟)冗余集群。

坚固耐用、无风扇设计、IP40防护等级

采用可靠的系统,恢复能力强

采用更可靠的系统是提高可用性一个办法。系统越稳固可靠,发生故障的可能性就越小。故障越少,系统运行的时间就越长,顾名思义,系统可用时间也就越长。

实施弹性更强的系统是提高可用性的另一个相关方法--能够使系统从故障中快速恢复。通过减少修复系统和恢复服务所需的时间,您可以降低停机时间,提高整体可用性。有趣的是,如果一个系统每次都能快速反弹,那么它发生故障的频率就不那么重要了。

实施备份与恢复

不过,可靠性和弹性也有其局限性。在很多情况下,除了系统的可用性,您还需要考虑数据安全性和数据完整性。

企业若采取更全面的可用性方法,通常会定期备份数据,并在清单中保留备用系统。如果生产系统发生灾难性故障,他们能够在备用系统上重启服务,从存档文件中恢复所需数据。

设置备份和恢复服务对技能有一定的要求。而恢复时间也会有所不同,从几个小时到几天不等,这取决于应用、数据量和备件可用性的情况。

采用本地和虚拟集群及故障转移服务

对于一些企业来说,几小时或几天后恢复服务可能是可以接受的。但是,对于停机成本较高的公司来说,他们则需要为应用和数据找到一种更有弹性的方法。

集群和故障转移与备份和恢复方式的原来相同,但会提前做一些工作来缩短恢复服务的时间,比如通过复制系统,瞬间就能恢复系统。这些冗余系统能够将多个系统组合在一起,共享数据。通常情况下,一个系统作为主系统,供用户进行对应用程序和数据的访问,而一个辅助系统作为备份,在不需要时处于休眠(被动)状态或用于运行其他应用程序(主动)。如果主系统发生故障,只要建立了共享数据连接,应用程序便可"转移"到辅助系统,并在那里恢复运行。

随着虚拟化技术的出现,集群和故障转移的概念已经延伸到虚拟系统。如今,通过应用虚拟化和集群技术,能够将物理系统和在虚拟机(VM)上运行的故障转移应用结合起来,充分利用虚拟机的可移植性。

Stratus 提供哪些服务?

Stratus提供广泛的边缘解决方案,能够覆盖整个可用性范围。从 everRun 等纯软件产品,到 ztC Edge ftServer 这种包含硬件、软件和服务的完整解决方案,Stratus 能够帮助客户轻松、经济高效地交付高可用和容错的工作负载。

Availability

Not all availability is the same

What is availability?

Availability is a way to measure the durability of a system. Availability can be defined as the length of time a system is actually functioning (or service operational), divided by the length of time the system could have been working.

What are typical availability levels?

Systems are usually segmented into availability levels by their number of “nines,” and further described using terms like “highly-available” and “fault-tolerant.” If a system is available 99% of the time (two nines), that then means it’s not available 1% of the time. In any given year with 525,600 available minutes, you can expect a “two nines” system to be down for 5256 of those minutes, or for about 88 hours or 4 days. Depending on your particular cost of downtime, this can be expensive.

Availability Number of nines Downtime per year Often described as
99.9% Three nines 526 minutes or less Available
99.99% Four nines 53 minutes or less Highly-available
99.999% Five nines 5 minutes or less Fault-tolerant

Systems operating at higher “four nines” and “five nines” average availability levels are often called “highly-available” or “fault-tolerant” systems.

What are common methods used to increase availability?

There are several time-tested methods companies use to improve availability, ranging from improving system reliability and resilience, implementing backup and recovery procedures, or deploying redundant clusters (physical or virtual) with failover services.

Rugged, fan-less, IP-40 rated

Using reliable and resilient systems

One way to improve availability is to use more reliable systems. The more rugged and reliable your system, the less likely it is to break down. The less it breaks down, the longer it keeps running, and by definition, the longer it’s available.

A related way to increase availability is to implement a more resilient system – one that can bounce back quickly from a setback. By reducing the time it takes to repair the system and resume services, you are lowering downtime and increasing overall availability. What’s interesting is that if a system can bounce back quickly every time, then it matters less how often it breaks.

Implementing backup and recovery

Reliability and resilience have their limits though. In many cases, it’s not just system availability, but data protection and data integrity that you also have to worry about.

Companies taking a more holistic approach to availability will often backup their data on a regular basis and keep spare systems in inventory. If their production systems experience a catastrophic failure, they restart services on their spare systems, recovering the data they need from their archives.

Setting up backup and recovery services requires some skill. And the time to recover can vary, from a few hours to a few days, depending on the applications, the amount of data, and the availability of spare parts.

Using native and virtual clustering and failover services

For some companies, resuming services after a few hours or a few days may be acceptable. But those with higher relative downtime costs need a more resilient approach, for both their applications and data.

Clustering and failover uses the same principle as backup and recovery, but shortens the time to recover services by doing some things in advance, like replicating systems so that they’re ready to resume at a moment’s notice. Several systems are combined and data is shared by these redundant systems. Typically, one system acts as the primary, providing users with access to applications and data, while a secondary system acts as a backup, either staying dormant until needed (passive) or running other applications (active). In the event of a failure to the primary system, the application will “failover” to the secondary system and resume running there, so long as the connections to shared data are established.

With the emergence of virtualization technologies, clustering and failover concepts have been extended to virtual systems. Today, virtualization and clustering technologies are being used to combine physical systems and failover applications running on virtual machines (VM), taking advantage of VM portability.

What does Stratus offer?

Stratus offers a wide variety of edge computing solutions covering the full availability spectrum. From software only products like everRun, to complete solutions like ztC Edge and ftServer that include hardware, software, and services, Stratus helps customers easily and affordably deliver highly-available and fault-tolerant workloads.