Network Functions Virtualization (NFV) bringt Effizienz, Kosteneinsparungen und Flexibilität in die Netzwerkwelt, so wie Virtualisierung und cloud Technologien die Welt der Unternehmensserver verändert haben.

Aber für Telcos sind Zuverlässigkeit und Verfügbarkeit nicht verhandelbar. In der Telekommunikationsbranche ist eine Netzverfügbarkeit von fünf Neunen (99,999 %) der Maßstab: Der Ruf eines Telekommunikationsunternehmens beruht auf seiner Fähigkeit, Anrufe zuverlässig zu verbinden und Daten zu übertragen. Fällt das Netz aus, und sei es nur für ein paar Sekunden, können Millionen von Menschen betroffen sein. Ein Systemausfall führt nicht nur zu Umsatzeinbußen für den Betreiber, sondern kann auch seinen Ruf ernsthaft schädigen und in einigen Fällen können sogar Menschenleben auf dem Spiel stehen. Stratus' Hochverfügbarkeitslösungen für die Telekommunikation sind die beste Option.

Als private und hybride OpenStack-basierte Lösung bietet die Stratus Cloud Lösung für Telcos und Kommunikationsinfrastrukturen softwaredefinierte, vollständig automatisierte, auswählbare Ausfallsicherheitsebenen für cloud Workloads, einschließlich vollständig zustandsabhängiger Fehlertoleranz, mit Geo-Redundanz und transparenter Servicekontinuität. Im Gegensatz zu herkömmlichen Ansätzen für die Fehlertoleranz, die doppelte oder dreifache Ressourcen erfordern und die Auslastung auf 50 % bzw. 33 % begrenzen, was zu hohen Kosten führt, nutzt unsere Software Defined Availability (SDA) virtualisierte Ausfallsicherheit, die auf unserer einzigartigen StatePoint™-Technologie basiert und eine drastische Steigerung der Ressourcenauslastung von 80 % bis 90 % ermöglicht, während sie kompromisslose Zuverlässigkeit zu einem Bruchteil der Ressourcenkosten bietet.

Die Stratus Cloud Lösung für Telcos und Kommunikationsinfrastrukturen ist für das neue konvergente IP-Netzwerk gewünscht, das NFV, SDN, IMS, LTE und WiFi umfasst. Über die Netzwerkfunktionen hinaus bietet sie eine Plattform für Telcos, um wettbewerbsfähige cloud Angebote und Big-Data-Analysen anzubieten und damit potenziell wertvolle neue Einnahmequellen zu erschließen.

Telekommunikation Stratus Technologien

 Wichtige Vorteile:

Minimiert CAPEX und OPEX mit:

  • Steigerung der Ressourcenauslastung von unter 50 % in herkömmlichen fehlertoleranten Architekturen auf über 80 % mit intelligenter softwarebasierter Fehlertoleranz, bei einem Bruchteil der Ressourcenkosten
  • Commercial-Off-The-Shelf (COTS)-Hardware und Open-Source-Software (KVM und OpenStack)
  • Automatisierte Bereitstellung und Verwaltung, die menschliche Fehler und Komplexität reduziert
  • Self-Service für Unternehmen, der Implementierungen von Tagen auf Minuten reduziert

Transparente Servicekontinuität durch vollständig zustandsabhängige Ausfallsicherheit und Verfügbarkeit für Anwendungen ohne Codeänderungen

Optimiert den ROI mit einer cloud Lösung, die unterstützt:

  • Bereitstellung und Verwaltung aller Anwendungen mit wählbaren Verfügbarkeitsstufen
  • Offene, standardbasierte und herstellerübergreifende Unterstützung von NFV, SDN, IMS und anderen Anwendungen

Stratus' Cloud Lösungen bestehen aus zwei Produkten; Availability Services und Workload Services. Siehe Abbildung unten

Verfügbarkeitsdienste ermöglichen Ihnen eine zustandsabhängige kontinuierliche Verfügbarkeit für unternehmenskritische Workloads sowie andere Verfügbarkeitsoptionen für weniger kritische Workloads. Es nutzt den KVM-Hypervisor mit zusätzlichen Erweiterungen für transparente Availability Services

Arbeitslast-Dienste ermöglicht schnelle, einfache und effiziente Bereitstellungen und Verwaltung für alle Workload-Typen in OpenStack-basierten Clouds. Es bietet intelligentes dynamisches Workload-Management, das Heat und andere Standard-OpenStack-Services nutzt, um eine schnellere Bereitstellung und Verwaltung aller virtualisierten und cloud Anwendungen zu ermöglichen , mit wählbaren Stufen der Ausfallsicherheit und Verfügbarkeit für jede Anwendung.

Ressourcen fürdie Telekommunikation

Ressourcen-Center

Network Functions Virtualization (NFV) is bringing efficiency, cost savings and flexibility to the networking world in the same way that virtualization and cloud technologies transformed the enterprise server world

But for telcos, reliability and availability are non-negotiable. In the telecoms industry, five nines (99.999%) network availability is the benchmark: The reputation of a telco rests on its ability to reliably connect calls and transfer data. If the network goes down, even just for a few seconds, millions of people can be affected. System failure not only results in loss of revenue for the operator, it can seriously damage its reputation and, in some cases, lives could be at stake

A private and hybrid OpenStack-based solution, the Stratus Cloud Solution for telcos and communications infrastructures provides software defined, fully automated, selectable levels of resilience to cloud workloads, including fully stateful fault-tolerance, with geo-redundancy and transparent service continuity. Unlike traditional approaches for fault-tolerance, which require duplicate or triplicate resources, limiting utilization to 50% or 33% respectively, with resultant high costs, our Software Defined Availability (SDA) uses virtualized resilience based on our unique StatePoint™ Technology enabling dramatic increases in resource utilization levels of 80% to 90%, while providing uncompromised reliability at a fraction of the resource cost

The Stratus Cloud Solution for Telcos and Communications infrastructure is desired for the new converged IP network that includes NFV, SDN, IMS, LTE and WiFi. Beyond network functions, it provides a platform for telcos to offer competitive cloud propositions and big data analytics, potentially opening up valuable new revenue streams.

Telecommunications Stratus Technologies

 Key benefits:

Minimizes CAPEX and OPEX with:

  • Increased resource utilization from sub 50% in traditional fault-tolerant architectures to more than 80% with intelligent software-based fault tolerance, at a fraction of the resource cost
  • Commercial-Off-The-Shelf (COTS) hardware and open source software (KVM and OpenStack)
  • Automated deployment and management that reduces human errors and complexity
  • Business self-service that reduces deployments from days to minutes

Transparent service continuity through fully stateful resiliency and availability for applications without code changes

Optimizes ROI with one cloud solution that supports:

  • Deployment and management of all applications with selectable availability levels
  • Open, standards-based and multi-vendor support of NFV, SDN, IMS and other applications

Stratus’ Cloud Solutions consist of two products; Availability Services and Workload Services. See Figure below

Availability Services enable you to achieve stateful continuous availability for mission critical workloads as well as other availability level options for less critical workloads. It leverages the KVM hypervisor with added extensions for transparent Availability Services

Workload Services enables fast, easy and efficient deployments and management for all workload types in OpenStack based clouds. It provides Intelligent Dynamic Workload Management that leverages Heat and other standard OpenStack services to provide faster deployment and management of all virtualized and cloud applications, with selectable levels of resiliency and availability for each application.

Telecommunications resources

All
Application Availability
Cloud
Cost of Downtime
Edge
Fault Tolerant
High Availability
IIoT
Virtualization
Resource Type
  • Case Studies ()
  • Analyst Reports ()
  • Brochures ()
  • Video ()
  • Webinars ()
  • White Papers ()

The “cloudification” of Telco: part two

In the course of serving subscribers, CSPs accumulate a lot of data about their subscribers. This includes information about their devices, their usage patterns, service plans, geographic locations, contacts, purchase histories, and more.

AT&T just gets it

I’d promised myself that I’d take a break from discussing cloud and NFV for a while, but against my better judgement, here’s one more… For the past year or so we have been working on our new cloud product designed to solve the pr...

Deploying Telco-grade cloud solutions and NFV

Representing the biggest potential transformation for telcos in two decades, Network Functions Virtualization (NFV) is bringing agility, flexibility, efficiency and cost savings to the networking world in the same way...

Stratus in telecommunications & media

With communications such an integral part of everyday life — at work, at home and on the go — network operators and service providers must ensure 24/7/365 availability of core...

Availability for Dummies (2nd edition)

This informative ebook explains the true importance of availability, the real costs of downtime, and how to pick the availability option that best matches your organization’s needs. It also describes...

ESG solution showcase Stratus enhances VMware

Organizations today are more dependent on their IT resources than ever. As a result, IT teams are transforming their data centers through server virtualization, even as they face increasing pressure...