边缘计算是 IT 投资的最重要方面之一,尤其是按照公司范围的数字转型倡议来评断时,例如物联网 (IoT)。所谓边缘计算,是指能够及时将数据和资源提供给人们和事物并对它们进行分析的计算技术的统称。边缘计算是计算向数据生成位置的移动,因此有助于缩短“价值实现时间”,即从中收集到的洞察力。

乍一看,边缘计算似乎具有极高的同质性,并且包含在“核心”外执行的所有活动,这可能是公司范围的主要 IT(信息技术)基础设施的位置。实际上,边缘计算是一种按照用例和以工作负载为中心的方式排列的多层资产组合。“智能”边缘层是核心与端点之间的关键链接,它提供分布式计算、数据持久性和网络聚合层,并且用作已收集数据的中间分析。对于 OT(运营技术)用例,边缘层托管驱动和控制设备,而在 CT(通信技术)用例中,它甚至能够与增压器和中继设备等通信设备进行连接。边缘计算基础设施缺乏行业标准和架构方法,这意味着当今大多数边缘部署本质上是高度定制的(尽管引入“雾计算”等架构覆盖概念最终可能实现所提议的标准得到认可)。

CIO 和其他 IT 领导者必须使他们更广泛的组织和主要利益相关者做好准备,以实施成功部署和管理边缘计算基础设施的必要步骤。承认边缘计算为长期投资的公司一般分为以下两个类别:

  1. 很早就采用了边缘计算的公司。他们已经在定制或半定制方法上进行了投资,并且正在按部就班地实现使计算更接近于数据的业务优势。许多早期物联网采用者属于这个类别。
  2. 另一个类别是对边缘计算持观望态度的公司。他们正在评估在生产中能够部署边缘计算的方式、必须对其 IT 流程所做的改变,以及如何能够获得长期商业优势。这些公司一般将采取涉及行业标准基础设施的方法

(注意:此分类不包括“传统”边缘部署,例如远程和分支机构。这些机构通过电信服务提供商、石油与能源提供商以及零售商检查针对更新用例的边缘部署,例如物联网。)

对于属于第二阵营的公司,我推荐他们在以下方面多做努力 – 这些方面将显著提高组织从其边缘计算基础设施中获得的价值。在其中任何一方面做得不够,都可能导致在不完整和欠佳的解决方案上浪费时间和精力,或者导致收入减少,以及用更大的代价来解决因基础设施不完整或实施不当而导致的危机。

  • 基础设施架构涉及相应计算平台的选择,以及连接性和数据持久性。该平台必须支持裸机和虚拟化工作负载。从架构角度讲,组织必须将边缘视为其核心的扩展。
  • 资产和应用程序管理需要控制资产蔓延,以及已编目录的部署和管理 IT、OT 和 CT 应用程序。部署将边缘视为云一样处理的软件定义的基础设施解决方案
  • 数据管理和治理涉及在边缘处生成或收集的数据的生命周期管理。临时数据必须进行分析,然后加以处置,而持久性数据必须加以保护。组织必须定义“核心-边缘-端点”数据管理范例,确保按数据的价值对数据进行管理。
  • 基础设施安全性需要管理设备、用户、应用程序和数据安全。它要求根据公司治理、风险及合规政策管理边缘设备。在这里,组织可采取多管齐下的“时刻在线”安全方法

组织必须评估完全针对边缘部署而设计的基础设施平台,例如 Stratus ztC Edge,以及:

  • 支持 OT 部署中使用的运行分析(例如预测性资产维护)SCADA、Historian 和 HMI 应用程序
  • 内置高可用性和虚拟化功能,从而使部署裸机、虚拟化和集装箱化应用程序变得经济高效。
  • 自我管理、自我保护,并且能够在几乎没有 IT 支持的情况下进行部署。这些功能有助于缩短意外停机时间,确保关键业务工业应用程序的可用性
  • 坚固耐用,可实现真正的边缘部署。在这些部署中,可以无机架式安装将其放置在电源和冷却环境不理想的嵌入式或远程位置中。
  • 具有远程管理,从而使客户免于执行持续维护 – 这可由硬件供应商或托管服务提供商执行。

边缘计算构成了组织的下一代基础设施中的重要一层。在适当的环境中针对适当用例进行部署、使用相应的架构并正确地投资于技术时,边缘计算基础设施能够为公司带来巨大益处。

可从边缘计算中获益或已投资于边缘计算基础设施的公司应参考以下 IDC 观点,以指导他们充分利用其适应未来的基础设施。

关于 IDC
International Data Corporation (IDC) 是面向信息技术、电信和消费类技术市场的全球首要市场情报、咨询服务和活动提供商。IDC 帮助 IT 专业人士、企业高管和投资社区就技术采购和业务策略作出基于事实的决策。1100 多位 IDC 分析师在全球 110 多个国家/地区提供有关技术和行业机会及趋势的全球、地区和地方专业知识。50 年来,IDC 已提供了战略洞察力来帮助客户实现其关键业务目标。IDC 是全球领先技术媒体、研究和活动公司 IDG 的子公司。

Edge Computing is one of the top areas of IT investments, especially in the light of company-wide digital transformation initiatives such as the internet of things (IoT). Computing technologies that enable the delivery and analysis of data and resources to people and things in a timely fashion are collectively referred to as Edge Computing. Edge Computing is the moving of compute to where the data is generated, and therefore aids in reducing the “time to value” i.e., the insight gleaned from it.

At first glance, Edge Computing appears very homogeneous, and includes all activities that are performed outside of the “Core”, which could be the location of the primary corporate-wide IT (Information Technologies) infrastructure. In fact, Edge Computing is a multi-tiered mix of assets arranged in a use-case and workload-centric fashion. An “intelligent” Edge Tier is a crucial link between the Core and Endpoints, that provides a distributed compute, data persistence and network aggregation layer, and serves as the intermediary analytics of collected data. For OT (Operational Technologies) use cases the Edge tier hosts actuation and control equipment while in CT (Communications Technologies) use cases it can even interface with communications equipment such as booster and relay equipment. The lack of industry-wide standards and architectural approaches for Edge Computing infrastructure means that today most of the Edge deployments are highly custom in nature (though the introduction of architectural overlay concepts such as “Fog Computing” may eventually lead to the ratification of proposed standards).

CIOs and other IT leaders must prepare their wider organization and key stakeholders for the necessary steps to successfully deploy and manage an Edge Computing infrastructure. Firms that acknowledge Edge Computing as a long-term investment generally fall into these two categories:

  1. Firms that have embraced Edge Computing early on. They have invested in custom or semi-custom approaches and are well on their way to realizing the business benefits of moving compute closer to data. Many of the early adopters of the Internet of Things fall in this category or
  2. Firms that are still on the fence with Edge Computing. They are evaluating the way in which they can deploy Edge Computing in production, the changes do they have to make their IT processes, and how they can reap long-term business benefits. These firms will generally take an approach that involves an industry-standard infrastructure

(Note: this classification does not include “traditional” Edge deployments like remote and branch offices. Rather it examines Edge deployments for newer use cases like the Internet of Things, and by Telecom Service Providers, Oil and Energy providers, and Retail merchants.)

For firms that fall in the second camp, I recommend the following areas of diligence – areas that will significantly improve value that organizations obtain from their Edge Computing infrastructure. Avoiding any of these practices could result in wasted spend on an incomplete and suboptimal solution, or lost revenue and additional costs to address crises that arise from an incomplete or improperly implemented infrastructure.

  • Infrastructure Architecture involves the selection of an appropriate computing platform, along with connectivity and data persistence. The platform must support bare-metal and virtualized workloads. Organizations must treat the Edge as an extension of their Core from an architecture perspective.
  • Asset and Application Management requires control of asset sprawl, and a catalogued deployment and management IT, OT and CT apps. Deploy a software-defined infrastructure solution that treats the Edge like a cloud
  • Data Management and Governance involves the lifecycle management of data generated or collected at the Edge. Ephemeral data has to be analyzed and then disposed of, and what is persistent has to be protected. Organizations must define a Core-Edge-Endpoint data management paradigm that ensures that data is managed according to its value.
  • Infrastructure Security requires managing device, user, application and data security. It requires that Edge devices be managed according to corporate governance, risk and compliance policies. Here, organizations can take a multi-pronged “always-on” approach to security

Organizations must evaluate infrastructure platforms such as the Stratus ztC Edge that are designed from the ground up for Edge deployments, and:

  • Support running analytics (e.g. predictive asset maintenance) SCADA, historian and HMI applications that are used in OT deployments
  • Have high availability and virtualization built-in, making it cost-effective to deploy bare-metal, virtualized and containerized applications.
  • Are self-managing, self-protecting and can be deployed with minimal or no IT support. These capabilities help reduce unplanned downtime and ensure availability of business-critical industrial applications.
  • Are ruggedized for true edge deployments where it can be placed without rack mounts, in embedded or remote locations with less forgiving power and cooling options.
  • Come with remote management – alleviating customers from performing ongoing maintenance – which can be performed by the hardware vendor or a managed service provider.

Edge Computing forms an important tier in an organization’s next-gen infrastructure. It can offer enormous benefits to a firm when deployed in the right context, for the right use case, with the appropriate architecture and with the right investments in technologies.

Firms that could benefit from Edge Computing or have already invested in Edge Computing infrastructure should refer to the following IDC Perspective as a guide in making the most of their future-ready infrastructure.

About IDC
International Data Corporation (IDC) is the premier global provider of market intelligence, advisory services, and events for the information technology, telecommunications and consumer technology markets. IDC helps IT professionals, business executives, and the investment community make fact-based decisions on technology purchases and business strategy. More than 1,100 IDC analysts provide global, regional, and local expertise on technology and industry opportunities and trends in over 110 countries worldwide. For 50 years, IDC has provided strategic insights to help our clients achieve their key business objectives. IDC is a subsidiary of IDG, the world’s leading technology media, research, and events company.