“如果您需要一台机器而不舍得购 买它,最终您会发现为它支付了费 用却没有拥有它。” – Henry Ford

Henry 精通工业自动化,他负责 Ford 生产线的持续运行。他凭经验知道,如果我们真的需要某样东西却推迟购买它,我们日后会感到后悔的。 从长远来看,我们因节俭而遭受的无法预见的损失,远远超过暂时节约 的成本。我们真正需要的东西,最好还是买下来。

这一点在信息处理中也得到体现。指定将运行您应用程序的服务器,获得设备的一些出价,然后选择最低出价者 – 这一切都非常容易。但是,人们往往只考虑低初始成本,而忽略在系统意外停机时导致生产力下降的 成本,或者在首次安装价格最低的设备后频繁更换该设备而导致的客户 不满、罚款成本等。明智的做法是彻底分析您的业务需求,然后选择将提供最佳长期投资回报的设备。确保了解真实的总拥有成本,才能做出最佳决策。

37 年来,无论遇到什么情况,Stratus 都始终不遗余力地为客户提供 持续、不间断的数据处理。Stratus 的 ftServers 和 V 系列系统采用独特的 完全冗余系统组件部署,能够顺利克服在系统任何位置出现的任何故障,而不影响系统可用性、处理或数据(或许数据是最重要的)。更大的优 点是,这种固有冗余方法还可实现非常易于设置、管理、维护和服务的计算服务器。如果用户有不能容忍意外停机的业务应用程序,他们都应考虑采用 Stratus 系统,以便防患于未然。尤其是现在,公司发布了支持 Stratus 最新第 9 代 ftServer 的 VMware vSphere 6.5,并且采用了最新的 Intel® Xeon® 处理技术来处理比以往更多的计算工作负载。了解有关ftServer for VMware的更多信息

“If you need a machine and don’t buy it, then you will ultimately find that you have paid for it and don’t have it.” – Henry Ford

Henry knew a thing or two about industrial automation, and keeping the Ford production lines humming. He knew from experience that if we really need something, and put off acquiring it, we’ll regret it later. The cost saved temporarily, will in the long run, be eclipsed by unforeseen costs we’ll incur as a result of our frugality. We’d have been much better off buying what we really needed, when we needed it.

We can see this in information processing. It’s pretty easy to spec out a server that will run your application, get a few bids on that equipment, and go with the lowest bidder. But a low initial cost won’t factor in the cost of lost productivity when the system goes down unexpectedly, or the need to replace that lowest cost equipment too frequently after it is first installed – or the loss of customer confidence, cost of penalties, etc. The wise play is to thoroughly analyze the needs of your business, and specify equipment that will provide the best long-term return on your investment. Making sure that the true total cost of ownership is understood leads to optimum decisions.

For 37 years, Stratus has been providing our customers continuous, uninterrupted data processing, no matter what. Stratus’ ftServers and V-Series systems use a unique deployment of fully redundant system components so that any failure, anywhere in the system, is ridden through, with no loss of system availability, processing, or perhaps most important of all, data. Better still is that this inherently redundant approach also results in a compute server that is utterly simple to set up, manage, maintain and service. Any users with business applications that can’t tolerate unexpected downtime should be looking at a Stratus system to prevent crises before they occur. Especially now, with the release of VMware’s vSphere 6.5 for Stratus’ newest 9th generation ftServer, featuring the latest in Intel® Xeon® processing to handle more compute workload than ever. Learn more about ftServer for VMware here.