常见问题解答(FAQ)

我们能提供哪些帮助?

常见问题解答

Stratus 发布的内容是什么?

12月7日,Stratus 为其 ztC Edge 计算产品正式发布了新的软件更新。Stratus Redundant Linux 2.2版为客户提供增强的 REST API,最新的安全补丁,以及新的基于 Web 的系统管理工具 ztC Advisor 的一键启动功能。建议当前客户更新到最新版本,以便利用这些新功能和增强功能。

这些新功能和增强功能为什么很重要?

SRL 2.2 提升了互操作性、安全性和可管理性,帮助客户进一步降低运维成本,提高工作效率,并尽可能降低风险。增强的 REST API 提供更精细的虚拟机信息,让管理员能够更好地优化应用性能和资源利用率。SRL 2.2 融合 Stratus 最新的安全补丁和更新,可以修复近 200 种已知的漏洞和缺陷,从而为其 ztC Edge 解决方案提供更安全、更可靠的操作平台。最后,基于 Web 的系统管理工具 ztC Advisor 的一键启动功能让所有背景的管理员都能更快投入工作,集中管理多个 ztC Edge 平台并确保它们的可用性。

ztC Advisor 是什么?

ztC Advisor 是新的基于 Web 的边缘系统管理工具,让所有背景(运营和 IT)的管理员更轻松地对大规模 ztC Edge 计算基础设施进行远程管理。 ztC Advisor 可以简化多个 ztC Edge 平台的远程集中监控和管理。客户可以通过安全的 Web 门户快速、轻松地查看整个 ztC Edge 资产的运行状况和利用情况,从而帮助他们远程诊断问题、提高工作效率并缓解风险。自 12 月 7 日起,Stratus 将向客户提供 ztC Advisor 预览版。请访问
 Stratus.com/solutions/ztc-advisor了解更多信息。

提供 ztC Advisor “预览”版是什么意思?

为了收集关于这一新产品的信息,ztC Advisor 预览版首先向现有客户免费提供。在支持和维护协议有效期内的现有客户可以在限定时间内免费注册使用 ztC Advisor,并向 Stratus 提供使用反馈。建议购买 ztC Edge 平台的所有新客户注册并试用 ztC Advisor。所有使用 ztC Edge 平台的现有客户如果运行的是 SRL 2.1(或更早版本),建议将系统更新到 SRL 2.2,然后试用这一新产品。

Stratus ztC Edge 解决方案是什么?

Stratus ztC Edge 是一个安全、耐用、高度自动化的计算平台,可以帮助人员不足的组织扩大生产力、提高经营效率并降低边缘停机风险。“ztC”表示“零接触计算”。借助内置的虚拟化、自动防护、工业互操作性、OT 可管理性和现场服务功能, ztC Edge 可以快速、轻松地交付高度可用的虚拟化边缘应用。

ztC Edge 面向哪些人员?其主要优势是什么?

该解决方案为运营和 IT 人员而设计,帮助他们在资源有限的远程环境中快速交付可靠的边缘应用和 IoT(物联网)应用。其主要优势是通过优化资源利用率,提高运营效率并减少停机时间。

从哪里可以购买 ztC Edge?目前它支持哪些特定的国家/地区和语言?

ztC Edge 为全球所有地区提供支持,并提供大部分主要一类语言的本地化版本。如需获取目前受支持语言和国家/地区列表,请访问 本地化状态页面。

ztC Edge 遵守或符合哪些产品安全和质量认证?

Stratus ztC Edge 目前获得了全球大部分机构的认证,例如 FCC、CE、VCCI、CCC 等。ztC Edge 110i 型号获得 I 类 2 级 (CI D2) 认证,这确保它可以使用经过认证的外壳,安全部署在有潜在危险的环境中。如需获取目前的环境认证列表,认证状态页面。

Stratus ztC Edge 的主要特点是什么?

其主要特点是内置虚拟化、简化安全性、工业互操作性、OT 可管理性、丰富的耐用节点、自动防护、现场服务功能,以及可选的管理支持服务。与其他边缘计算平台不同,ztC Edge 操作简单,方便使用,可以提供更高的防护等级以及大量自动化功能,帮助 OT 和 IT 人员快速、轻松地实现高度可靠的虚拟化边缘应用,从而让人员不足的组织能够提高生产力和运营效率,同时降低停机风险。如需了解有关 ztC Edge 的详细信息,请访问 stratus.com 上的 ztC Edge产品主页关于 ,或者下载并参阅 ztC Edge 产品手册.

企业通常在 ztC Edge 上运行哪些应用?

Stratus ztC Edge 旨在快速、轻松地交付高可靠性边缘计算应用,例如 Rockwell、Aveva (Wonderware)、GE 和 Inductive Automation 等品牌的工业控制应用(如 SCADA/HMI、历史数据库),以及施耐德电气和 Gallagher 等品牌的建筑管理系统。它还可以支持许多其他新兴的边缘应用,如 Rockwell 的 ThinManager 远程桌面虚拟化软件和 FogHorn 的 Lightning EdgeML 分析框架。

ztC Edge 是否可以订购或定制不同的处理器、内存和存储容量?

可以订购,但不能定制。Stratus 提供两种不同的硬件型号 - ztC Edge 100i 和 ztC Edge 110i,它们采用不同的处理器、存储容量和网络容量,但型号本身不能进一步定制。固定配置和产品 SKU 最小化可以简化订单的录入和交付。对于目前不需要高可用性或容错计算平台的客户,或者希望后期增加冗余的客户,平台提供单节点版本。冗余系统也已经开放购买。如需了解两个硬件型号之间的相同点和不同点概述,请访问 stratus.com 上的 ztC Edge产品主页,或者下载并参阅 ztC Edge 产品手册。

如果运行 Windows 客户机操作系统,ztC Edge 的 Windows 许可要求是什么?

Stratus ztC Edge 要求至少一个 Windows 许可证,支持最多 2 台虚拟机。如果部署冗余系统,则至少需要两个 Windows 许可证(每个 ztC Edge 节点各一个)。在 ztC Edge 冗余系统中两个许可证将最多支持四台虚拟机。如果客户希望在 ztC Edge 冗余系统中运行 5 到 8 台小型虚拟机,则需要再购买两个 Windows 许可证(每个节点增加一个)。

ztC Edge 当前客户是否可以使用 2.2 版 Stratus Redundant Linux?

可以,只要在支持协议有效期内即可。ztC Edge 当前客户若运行 1.x 或 2.x 版 Stratus Redundant Linux (SRL) 且正在订阅 System Support 或 System Health,即可以下载、更新和使用 SRL 2.2,而无需额外支付费用。客户订阅支持服务还可以享受软件补丁和升级服务。运行 SRL 2.1 的客户可以使用 ztC Edge Console 中的轻松升级功能进行系统升级。运行较早版本 SRL(如 1.x 版本)的客户需要联系 Stratus Support 确认升级流程。

如上所述,具有有效支持协议的客户可以升级到 SRL 2.2,也可以注册使用 ztC Advisor,无需额外支付费用。使用 ztC Edge 可以选择哪些支持协议?

Stratus 提供两种年度(可续订)支持协议 - System Support 和 System Health,帮助客户最大化实现 ztC Edge 投资回报。

订阅 System Support 服务的客户享受全天候在线和电话技术支持服务,重大问题可在 30 分钟内得到回复。客户还可以享受根本原因查找服务,通过安全的自助服务门户获得补丁、更新、知识库和其他资源,并提前 3 天更换配件。与保修期内更换配件不同,Stratus 会在收到要更换的节点之前向客户寄送更换节点。

订阅 System Health 服务的客户享受全天候系统监测、预警诊断、系统日志查看、预测性故障分析以及介质保存服务。System Health 提供更为主动的服务,旨在问题恶化之前发现和修复故障。System Health 是 System Support 的附加订阅服务。

前文提到 Stratus Redundant Linux 包含自己的虚拟化平台。该虚拟化平台基于什么技术?

Stratus Redundant Linux 是 ztC Edge 的系统软件,它部分基于 CentOS 分布技术和 KVM 虚拟机监控程序。虽然它基于开源软件,但 Stratus 对其进行了个性化改造。因此,希望更新系统的客户只应使用 Stratus 提供的补丁。增加的可用性层和 ztC Edge Console 管理工具让管理各个系统及其虚拟机成为可能。

虚拟客户机支持哪些操作系统?

ztC Edge支持大多数主流的 Windows 和 Linux 虚拟机操作系统。如需查看当前支持的客户机操作系统列表,请访问 客户机操作系统支持状态页面

ztC Edge 解决方案的容量是多少?可同时运行多少个应用程序?

ztC Edge 可同时运行的应用数量取决于多个因素,包括应用的资源要求、性能预期以及所需的可用性水平。

例如,一个 Stratus ztC Edge 平台可以设置支持三个中等规模的虚拟机,并在使用 SCADA 应用程序的默认设置进行配置时提供可接受的性能。例如,每个100i节点配备4个英特尔 i7 超线程内核(相当于8个虚拟CPU)、32GB内存和512GB SSD存储。ztC Edge操作系统本身需要2个虚拟 CPU、2GB内存,如果以冗余模式部署,则需要约20%的可用应用内存和存储空间。一个冗余的 ztC Edge 100i系统可能会配置3个虚拟机,每个虚拟机的大小为2个虚拟 CPU 和8GB内存。其中一个具有60GB存储空间的虚拟机可用于 10,000 个标签的 SCADA/HMI 工作负载,数据采集速度为 1 标签/秒。第二个具有 250GB 存储空间的虚拟机将支持 10,000 个标签的本地历史记录器,并采用默认压缩。第三个虚拟机的磁盘容量为 90GB,将用于运行远程桌面服务,支持3个并发用户或会话。

针对您的具体用例,如需了解更多信息,或者获取最新的规模指南,请联系您当地的 Stratus 合作伙伴或客户成功工程师。

ztC Edge 是否最多支持 3 台虚拟机?

不是,支持的虚拟机总数量取决于运行的应用以及性能要求。但在常规的边缘计算环境中,ztC Edge 旨在支持 3 台虚拟机。如果客户运行更多轻量化虚拟机用例,则可以支持 3 台以上虚拟机。

Stratus Redundant Linux 中的监控程序是否可以使用未经修改的 VMware 映像?

是。ztC Edge 的虚拟化主机支持 OVF 和 OVA 格式的虚拟设备(预配置虚拟机映像),包括 VMware 专用格式的模板。使用 ztC Edge 的管理工具 (ztC Edge Console) 检索包括 UEFI VM(统一可扩展固件接口)在内的 VMware 映像时,映像可以自动转换成 ztC Edge 要求的格式,然后进行启动。

ztC Edge 是否属于容错解决方案?

是的,它可以作为容错解决方案使用。在虚拟机水平上,ztC Edge 110i 冗余系统可配置为支持容错 (FT) 或高可用性 (HA) 工作负载。实际上,客户可以在同一 110i 冗余系统中同时运行 FT 和 HA 工作负载,只要它们位于不同的虚拟机即可。凭借这种灵活性,客户能够根据工作负载的重要性匹配可用性级别,优化资源利用。

型号 ztC Edge 100i 支持 HA 工作负载(作为冗余系统进行部署时),但不支持容错工作负载,这是因为只有 110i 硬件能够提供容错要求的 10G 连接。

Stratus 是否提供其他容错解决方案?ftServer 和 ztC Edge 有哪些相同点和不同点?

是,Stratus 提供另一款名为 ftServer 的容错解决方案。实际上,“ftServer”中的“ft”代表的就是“容错”。

ztC Edge 专为边缘环境打造,非常适合中等规模的边缘应用。得益于坚固耐用的小巧外形,它可以在车间的墙壁、DIN 轨道、橱柜、控制台或生产设备上进行部署。ztC Edge 为环境虚拟化与控制提供有力支持,可支持多达 10,000 个标签,允许 3 位用户同时使用。

ftServer 专为更大规模的工业控制应用而打造,其 4U 机架安装外形提供更大的容量,支持第三方虚拟化平台和大容量存储选项,因此更适合区域数据中心或边缘控制室中部署的大型任务关键型工作负载。

以容错模式运行的两个 ztC Edge 节点是否会像一个逻辑系统一样运行,还是一个作为主节点,另一个作为备用节点?

ztC Edge 实施容错的方式与 ftServer 不同,它使用基于软件的检查点方法,而 ftServer 使用基于硬件的 FPGA 方法。

以容错模式运行时,ztC Edge 的两个节点采用冗余系统方式运行,所有写入磁盘的数据、所有内存数据以及所有 CPU 状态会在两个节点之间持续进行复制,因此当一个节点出现灾难性故障时,虚拟机可以在另一个仍然运行的节点上,从第一个节点停止的位置恢复运行。第二个节点处于“活跃备用”或“就绪”状态,从而可以持续进行更新并在需要时立即接管。第二个节点接管时可能产生短暂延迟(最长五秒),但不会丢失数据或事务。

而 ftServer 系统在两个子系统之间同时复制所有进程和 I/O,本质上是有两台计算机在完全相同的时间执行完全相同的操作,且都是主服务器。如果其中一个子系统出现故障,另一个会继续作为主服务器运行,只是此时只有这一台服务器了。由于一个子系统不会“接管”另一个子系统,所以不存在延迟。

ztC Edge 的自动本地站点恢复功能是否有条件限制?

ztC Edge 冗余系统中的两个节点可以部署在不同的位置,只需确保两个节点之间的网络连接往返延迟低于高可用性工作负载要求的 10 ms 阈值,以及容错工作负载要求的 2 ms 阈值。满足这些条件即可确保 ztC Edge 提供本地或城区灾难恢复服务。Stratus 建议,对于间隔 10 米(33英尺)以上的节点或者通过外部交换机连接的节点,还要实施仲裁服务。

我知道 Stratus 还提供名为 everRun 的软件可用性产品。Stratus ztC Edge 是否就是在工业 PC 上运行的 everRun 软件?

不是,虽然 Stratus ztC Edge 使用了一些与 everRun 相同的技术,但它是不同的解决方案。everRun 和 Stratus Redundant Linux(Stratus ztC Edge 的操作系统)都使用相同的虚拟化框架和可用性层,但 Stratus Redundant Linux 通过 ztC Edge 硬件提供了更多功能,从而极大简化了部署,带来更先进的综合系统监控和管理功能,这是通过结合仅仅在工业标准硬件上运行的 everRun 所无法提供的。

ztC Edge 节点的耐用性如何?其防护等级如何?建议运行温度是多少?这是否会根据海拔的变化而改变?

ztC Edge 的防护等级为 IP40,采用坚固耐用的无风扇固态设计,不包含活动部件。使用直流电源时,型号 ztC Edge 100i 可在 -40 到 60 °C(-40 到 140 °F)的温度范围内运行。使用直流电源时,型号 ztC Edge 110i 可在 -20 到 55 °C(-4 到 131 °F)的温度范围内运行。如果使用随系统提供的交流电源,两种型号的建议运行温度均为 0 到 50 °C(32 到 122 °F)。

在海拔较高的地区,由于空气更为稀薄干燥,空气对流产生的散热效果较差,因为 ztC Edge 是无风扇的对流制冷产品,因此海拔较高时建议降低运行温度。例如,在海拔 4200 米(14,000 英尺)的地区,最高环境温度应维持在 35 °C (95 °F) 以下。如需了解具体用例的建议温度范围或防护等级,请联系 Stratus。

ztC Edge 是否支持以太网供电 (PoE)?其浪涌电流是多少?

不支持,ztC Edge 目前不支持 PoE。ztC Edge 100i 和 110i 系统的最大浪涌电流均为 20A。如需了解其他技术参数,请访问 stratus.com 上的 ztC Edge 产品主页

ztC Edge 如何进行 IP 寻址?

如系统本身和每台虚拟机一样,ztC Edge 冗余系统中的每个节点都有各自的 IP 地址。应用通常在虚拟机上运行。通信由系统进行处理,无论虚拟机目前在哪个节点上运行,其路由过程都是透明的。

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

How can we help?

FAQ’s

What is Stratus announcing?

Stratus is announcing on December 7 the general availability of a new software update for its ztC Edge computing product line. Stratus Redundant Linux version 2.2 offers customers an enhanced REST API, the latest security patches, and one-click enablement for a new, web-based systems management tool – ztC Advisor. Current customers are encouraged to upgrade to this latest version, to take advantage of these new features and enhancements.

Why are these new features and enhancements important?

With SRL 2.2, improvements in interoperability, security and manageability help customers further reduce their cost of operation and maintenance, improve productivity, and minimize risk. An enhanced REST API, with more granular information at the VM level, enables admins to better optimize application performance and resource utilization. SRL 2.2 incorporates Stratus’s latest security patches and updates, addressing nearly 200 known vulnerabilities and bugs to deliver a more secure, reliable operating platform for its ztC Edge solutions. Lastly, one-click enablement for ztC Advisor, a new web-based systems management tool, enables admins of all backgrounds that need to centrally manage multiple ztC Edge platforms and ensure their availability, become productive faster.

What is ztC Advisor?

ztC Advisor is a new web-based edge systems management tool that makes it easier for administrators of all backgrounds – Operations and IT – to remotely manage their ztC Edge computing infrastructure at scale. ztC Advisor simplifies the remote, centralized monitoring and management of multiple ztC Edge platforms. Through a secure, web based portal, customers can quickly and easily view the health and utilization of their entire ztC Edge inventory, helping them remotely triage issue, improve productivity, and mitigate risk. Starting Dec 7, ztC Advisor will be offered to Stratus customers as a preview product. More information is available at stratus.com/solutions/ztc-advisor.

What does it mean that ztC Advisor is being offered as a “preview” product?

In order to gather information about this new product, ztC Advisor is initially being offered to current customers as a free preview. For a limited time, current customers with active support and maintenance contracts will be able to register to use ztC Advisor for no additional cost, in exchange for providing Stratus feedback about their experience. All new customers purchasing ztC Edge platforms are encouraged to register and try ztC Advisor. All current customers using ztC Edge platforms running SRL 2.1 (or earlier) are encouraged to update their systems to SRL 2.2 and take advantage of this new offering.

What is Stratus’s ztC Edge solution?

Stratus ztC Edge is a secure, rugged, highly automated computing platform that helps understaffed organizations improve productivity, increase operational efficiency, and reduce downtime risk at the edge. “ztC” stands for “zero touch computing”. With its built-in virtualization, automated protection, industrial interoperability, OT manageability, and field serviceability, ztC Edge delivers highly available virtualized edge applications quickly and easily.

Who is the ztC Edge for, and what are its main benefits?

The solution is designed for both Operations and IT staff that need to quickly deliver reliable edge and IoT (Internet of Things) applications in remote, resource constrained environments. Its primary benefit is greater productivity through increased resource utilization, improved operational efficiency, and reduced downtime.

Where can I get ztC Edge? In what are the specific countries and languages is it currently supported?

ztC Edge is supported globally and localized into most major Tier 1 languages. For a current list of supported languages and countries, please visit our localization status page.

Which product safety and quality certifications does ztC Edge comply with or adhere to?

Stratus ztC Edge is currently certified under most global programs, like FCC, CE, VCCI, CCC, and others. The ztC Edge 110i model is Class I Division 2 (CI D2) certified, ensuring that it can be safely deployed in potentially hazardous environments with an approved enclosure. For a current list of environmental certifications, please visit our certification status page.

What are Stratus ztC Edge’s key features?

Its key features are its built-in virtualization, simplified security,  industrial interoperability, OT manageability, rugged redundant nodes, automated protection, field serviceability, and optional and managed support services. Differentiated from other edge computing platforms by its operational simplicity and ease of use, the level of protection it provides, and its breadth of automated capabilities, ztC Edge helps both OT and IT staff deliver highly reliable virtualized edge applications quickly and easily, allowing understaffed organizations to increase productivity and efficiency, while lowering downtime risk. For more information about ztC Edge, please visit the ztC Edge product homepage on stratus.com, or download and read the ztC Edge data sheet.

What applications do companies typically run on ztC Edge?

Stratus ztC Edge is designed to deliver highly reliable edge computing applications quickly and easily, such as industrial control applications (e.g. SCADA/HMI, historian) from Rockwell, Aveva (Wonderware), GE, and Inductive Automation, and building management systems from companies like Schneider Electric and Gallagher. It can also support many other emerging edge applications – ThinManager remote desktop virtualization software from Rockwell, analytics frameworks like FogHorn’s Lightning EdgeML.

Can ztC Edge be ordered, or customized with different processors, memory, and storage?

Yes and no. Stratus offers two different hardware models – the ztC Edge 100i and ztC Edge 110i – with different processor, storage, and networking capacities. But the models themselves are not further customizable. Fixed configurations, and a minimum set of product SKUs simplify order entry and fulfillment. The platforms are available as single node versions, for customers that don’t immediately require a highly available or fault tolerant computing platform, or for those that want to add redundancy later. Redundant systems are also available for purchase. For a summary of the similarities and differences between the two hardware models, please visit the ztC Edge product homepage on stratus.com, or download and read the ztC Edge data sheet.

What are the Windows licensing requirements for ztC Edge if I want to run Windows guest operating systems on them?

Stratus ztC Edge requires at least one Windows license, which will support up to 2 VMs. For a redundant deployment, you will need to acquire two Windows licenses (one for each ztC Edge node) at a minimum. The two licenses will provide support for up to four VMs on a redundant ztC Edge system. If customers want to run 5 to 8 small VMs on a redundant ztC Edge system, they will need to acquire two more Windows licenses (one more for each node).

Are current ztC Edge customers entitled to Stratus Redundant Linux version 2.2?

Yes, if they have an active support contract. Current ztC Edge customers running Stratus Redundant Linux (SRL) versions 1.x or 2.x that also have an active System Support or System Health subscription are entitled to download, upgrade, and use SRL 2.2 for no additional cost. Their support subscription entitles them to software patches and upgrades. Customers that are running SRL 2.1 can use the easy upgrade feature available in their ztC Edge Console to upgrade their system. Customers that are running any earlier version of SRL (e.g. version 1.x) should contact Stratus Support to confirm their upgrade process.

Earlier you mentioned that customers with active support contracts can upgrade to SRL 2.2, as well as register to use ztC Advisor, for no additional charge. What are the support contract options that are available with ztC Edge?

Stratus offers two annual (and renewable) support options – System Support and System Health – to help customers maximize their ztC Edge return on investment.

Customers subscribing to System Support services receive 24×7 web and phone-based technical support services with a 30-minute response SLA for critical issues. They also receive root cause problem determination services, access to patches, updates, knowledgebase, and other resources through a secure, self-service portal, and 3-day advance parts exchange. Unlike a warranty parts replacement, Stratus ships to customers replacement nodes before receiving a node in exchange.

Customers subscribing to System Health services receive 24×7 system monitoring, alert triage, system log reviews, predictive failure analysis, and media retention services. System Health services are more proactive in nature and designed to identify and fix issues before they become more serious problems. System Health is an add on subscription service to System Support.

You mentioned that Stratus Redundant Linux includes its own virtualization platform. On what technology is the virtualization platform based?

The system software for ztC Edge, Stratus Redundant Linux, is based in part on the CentOS distribution and KVM hypervisor. Although it is based on open source software, it has been customized by Stratus. For this reason, customers wanting to update their systems should only apply patches that they’ve received from Stratus. The addition of an availability layer, along with a management tool, the ztC Edge Console, enables the management of an individual system and its VMs.

What operating systems are supported for virtual guests?

ztC Edge supports most major Windows and Linux operating systems as virtual guests. For a current list of supported guest operating systems, please visit our guest OS support status page.

What is the capacity of a ztC Edge solution? How many applications can you run on it simultaneously?

The number of applications that can simultaneously be operated on ztC Edge depends on several factors, including the application’s resource requirements, its performance expectations, and desired availability level.

For example, a single Stratus ztC Edge platform can be set up to support three moderately sized VMs and deliver acceptable performance when configured using a SCADA application’s default settings. For example, each 100i node comes with 4 Intel i7 hyperthreaded cores (which translates into 8 virtual CPUs), 32 GB of memory, and 512 GB of SSD storage. The ztC Edge operating system itself requires 2 virtual CPUs, 2 GB of RAM, and about 20% of the available application memory and storage if deployed in redundant mode. A redundant ztC Edge 100i system might be configured with 3 VMs, each sized with 2 virtual CPUs and 8 GB of RAM. One VM with 60 GB of storage might be used for a 10,000 tag SCADA/HMI workload, with data being collected at 1 tag/sec. The second VM with 250 GB of storage would support a 10,000 tag local Historian, at default compression. The third VM with 90 GB of disk would be used to run remote desktop services, supporting 3 concurrent users or sessions.

For more information about your specific use case, or for the latest sizing guides, please contact your local Stratus partner or customer success engineer.

Are 3 VMs the maximum number ztC Edge will support?

No. The total number of VMs that are supported depends on the applications that are running, as well as your performance requirements. ztC Edge has been designed, however, to support 3 VMs in a typical edge computing environment. If a customer is running more lightweight VM use cases, then more than 3 VMs are possible.

Can the hypervisor in Stratus Redundant Linux use unmodified VMware images?

Yes. Virtual appliances (pre-configured virtual machine images) in both OVF and OVA formats are supported by ztC Edge’s virtualization host, including those templates formatted for VMware. When VMware images, including UEFI VMs (unified extensible firmware interface) are retrieved using ztC Edge’s management tool (ztC Edge Console), they are automatically imported into the format required for ztC Edge and then started.

Is ztC Edge a fault tolerant solution?

Yes, it can be. Redundant ztC Edge 110i systems can be configured to support fault tolerant (FT) or highly available (HA) workloads, at the VM level. In fact, customers can run FT and HA workloads simultaneously, on the same redundant 110i system, as long as they are on different VMs. This flexibility allows customers to match the level of availability to the criticality of their workloads and optimize resource utilization.

ztC Edge 100i models support HA workloads (when deployed as a redundant system), but they don’t support fault tolerant workloads. This is because the 10 GbE interconnects required for fault tolerance are only available with 110i hardware.

Does Stratus offer other fault tolerant solutions? What are the similarities and differences between ftServer and ztC Edge?

Yes, Stratus offers another fault tolerant solution called ftServer. In fact, the “ft” in “ftServer” stands for “fault tolerant”.

ztC Edge is purpose-built for Edge environments and well suited for moderately-sized edge applications. Its compact, rugged form factor allows it to be deployed right on the plant floor — on a wall, DIN rail, cabinet, control panel, or piece of production equipment. ztC Edge comfortably supports the visualization and control of environments with up to 10,000 tags and 3 concurrent users.

ftServer is designed for larger industrial control applications, and the greater capacity of its 4U rack mount form factor plus its support for third-party virtualization platforms and mass storage options makes it better suited for larger mission critical workloads deployed in regional data centers or edge control rooms.

Do the two ztC Edge nodes running in fault tolerant mode act like a single logical system (like ftServer) or is one a primary and the other a standby?

ztC Edge implements fault tolerance differently than ftServer. ztC Edge uses a software-based approach, with checkpointing, while ftServer uses a hardware based approach, with FPGAs.

When operating in fault tolerant mode, the two nodes in a ztC Edge solution act like a redundant system, continually replicating all data written to disk, all data in memory, and all CPU states, across both nodes so that in the event of a catastrophic failure in one node, VMs can resume on the other surviving node exactly where the first node left off. The second node is in an “active standby”, or “ready” mode, continually being updated and ready to take over should the need arise. There may be a brief delay (up to five seconds) while the second node takes over, but no data or transactions are lost.

On the other hand, ftServer systems duplicate all processing and I/O across both of its subsystems simultaneously. In essence, there are two computers doing the exact same thing at the exact same time, both acting as primary servers. If one of the subsystems fails, the remaining one continues to act as the primary server – only now by itself. There is no delay, since one subsystem is not “taking over” for another subsystem.

Are there any conditions associated with, or limitations of the automated local site recovery feature in ztC Edge?

The two nodes in a redundant ztC Edge system can be deployed in different physical locations, as long as the round trip latency in the network connectivity (a-links) between the nodes is below a 10 ms threshold for highly available workloads, and 2 ms for fault tolerant workloads. Meeting these conditions enables ztC Edge to deliver local site, or metro-area disaster recovery services. Stratus recommends that for nodes separated by more than 10 meters (or 33 feet), or for nodes bridged with external switches, a quorum service also be implemented.

I know Stratus also offers a software availability product called everRun. Is Stratus ztC Edge just everRun software running on an industrial PC?

No. Stratus ztC Edge, while it does leverage technology that is also in everRun, is a different solution. Both everRun and Stratus Redundant Linux (the OS in Stratus ztC Edge) utilize the same virtualization framework and availability layer. However, Stratus Redundant Linux further exposes features in ztC Edge hardware to offer dramatically simplified deployment, and more advanced, comprehensive system monitoring and management capabilities – more than that provided by the combination of everRun on industry standard hardware alone.

How rugged are ztC Edge’s nodes? What is their IP rating? What is their recommended operating temperature, and does this change with changes in altitude?

ztC Edge is IP40 rated, and features a durable, fan-less, solid state design with no moving parts. The ztC Edge 100i model can operate in temperatures ranging from -40 to 60 °C (-40 to 140 °F), when using DC power. The ztC Edge 110i model can operate in temperatures ranging from -20 to 55 °C (-4 to 131 °F), when using DC power. If the AC power supplies that are provided with the systems are used instead, the recommended operating temperature range changes to 0 to 50 °C (32 to 122 °F) for both models.

At higher altitudes, air is thinner and typically drier, which results in lower heat dissipation through air convection. As a result, the recommended operating temperature range at higher altitudes is reduced, because ztC Edge is a fan-less, convection cooled product. For example, at an altitude of 4200 meters (14,000 feet), the maximum ambient temperature should be kept below 35 °C (95 °F). For the recommended temperature ranges or ratings for your specific use case, please contact Stratus.

Does ztC Edge support Power over Ethernet? What is its inrush current?

No, ztC Edge does not currently support PoE. The maximum inrush current for both ztC Edge 100i and 110i systems is 20A. For additional technical specifications, please visit the ztC Edge product homepage on stratus.com.

How does IP addressing work with ztC Edge?

Each node in a redundant ztC Edge system has its own IP address, as does the system itself and each VM. Applications typically reside in VMs. Communications are handled by the system, with routing taking place to the VMs transparently, regardless of which node they are currently running on.