容错解决方案

基础知识

容错解决方案通常被描述为提供持续可用性,因为其设计初衷是预防停机发生。

虚拟化伴随着挑战

虚拟化关键应用程序时,必须了解您需要保护服务器资产,因为将一切移动到单个虚拟化平台意味着如果该平台出现故障,所有都会出现故障。可采用各种策略来防止发生这种情况,但切记不要为了避免每应用程序对应一个服务器的复杂性,而导致虚拟化环境中的复杂故障恢复机制。

解决方案

容错平台是避免这种复杂性的关键方式,这种平台可以简单、可靠地实现虚拟化,消除意外停机以及防止数据丢失 – 这是许多自动化环境中的关键要素,对于 IIoT 分析非常重要。

容错软件和硬件解决方案提供至少 99.999% 的可用性,可实现每年 2.5 分钟至 5.25 分钟的最小意外停机时间。尽管容错硬件和软件解决方案均可提供极高的可用性,但仍需要一定的权衡:容错服务器能够以最少的系统开销实现高可用性,从而提供出色的性能;而容错软件能够在组织中可能已部署的业界标准服务器上运行。

恢复不是预防

切忌将灾难恢复与容错相混淆。灾难恢复在发生灾难性故障时提供地理级冗余,但不会防止某些导致数据丢失的停机。实际上,容错和灾难恢复是互补的,它们通常一起实施。

Stratus 方法

30 多年来,Stratus 一直在完善容错和高可用性解决方案。 首先,我们利用专有硬件应对提供最高级别计算可用性带来的挑战。 针对现今的分布式计算世界,我们对产品进行了改进以提供全套软件解决方案。您将发现,我们的解决方案可提供众多级别的可用性,从容错到高可用性不等,还能对几乎所有的基础设施进行灾难恢复。利用这些解决方案,您不需要对现有的应用程序进行修改,并且几乎无需 IT 人员的帮助即可快速轻松地对其进行部署 – 非常适合边缘计算,而且我们所提供的能满足您需求的解决方案不止一个。

Fault Tolerance Solutions

The basics

Fault-tolerant solutions are often described as providing continuous availability because they are designed to prevent downtime from happening in the first place

Virtualization comes with challenges

When virtualizing critical applications, it is important to understand that you need to protect your server assets, as moving everything to a single virtualized platform means that everything fails if the platform fails. There are various strategies to prevent this, but it is important to ensure that you don’t swap the complexity of a single server per application for a complex failure recovery mechanism in a virtualized environment.

The solution

Fault-tolerant platforms are a key way to avoid this complexity, delivering simplicity and reliability in virtualized implementations, eliminating unplanned downtime and preventing data loss – a critical element in many automation environments, and essential for IIoT analytics.

Fault-tolerant software and hardware solutions provide at least five nines of availability — 99.999+% — for minimal unplanned downtime of between two and a half and five and a quarter minutes per year. While fault-tolerant hardware and software solutions both provide extremely high levels of availability, there is a trade-off: fault-tolerant servers achieve high availability with a minimal amount of system overhead to deliver a superior level of performance, while fault-tolerant software can be run on industry-standard servers your organization may already have in place.

Recovery is not prevention

It is important to note that disaster recovery should not be confused with fault-tolerance. DR provides geographic redundancy in case of catastrophic failures, but will not prevent some downtime of data loss. In fact, fault-tolerance and DR are complementary and they are often implemented together.

The Stratus approach

Stratus has been perfecting fault-tolerance and high availability solutions for over 30 years.  We first addressed the challenge of delivering the highest level of computing availability with proprietary hardware.  For today’s world of distributed computing we have evolved our offerings to a suite of solutions, including hardware and software with a range of levels of availability from fault-tolerance to high availability. These solutions require no changes to your existing applications, are quick and easy to deploy – perfect for edge computing – with little to no IT assistance needed and we have more than one solution that could work for your requirements.