关键基础设施、有限的 IT 员工和可靠性如何完美结合

随着公司不断发展壮大,一些公司发现,它们的计算基础设施不断扩展,这也带来了众多位置将会发生潜在故障的风险 – 没有比故障发生在网络末端让人感到更恐惧的。 对于许多公司来说,最重要的运营发生在此网络末端或“边缘”,无论是无人值守的全天候机械化运营还是要求更大处理能力的网络用户增加行为,都是如此。 在大多数情况下,此部分基础设施只在现场配备极少的 IT 员工来确保一切都持续按照计划运行。 网络边缘的这种计算(aka 边缘计算)对众多行业造成很大的挑战,例如制造、运输和电信行业等。 确保应用程序(和服务器)始终可用以保持公司的关键运营持续正常运行,这是最大的挑战。

边缘计算的计算需求

在整个基础设施中有很多级别的可用性需要考虑,但在使用边缘计算、顶层高可用性解决方案时并且在很多情况下,容错解决方案是确保获得最佳结果的唯一方式。 边缘计算需要多个级别的计算。 虽然许多公司的业务运营由于靠近数据中心或直接与数据中心相连而可以保持正常运转和相应的灵活性,但在网络边缘运行的应用程序并不能始终利用数据中心可提供的功能和可靠性,这些功能和可靠性将帮助确保数据完整性、分析信息,以及提供获得预期运营效率所需的建议。 推动边缘计算的解决方案不仅要能够提供执行运营所需的处理能力,而且要能够对要求数据的运营进行分析,从而改善涉及的所有过程。 使用适当规划的边缘计算时,必须通过网络传输更少的数据,从而减少瓶颈、释放基础设施,以便为创建的网络末端提供更强的计算能力。

边缘计算的 IT 简易性

此外,员工(如果有)通常会发现,在边缘计算发生的位置管理运营时,修复系统故障并不一定需要具有技术专家的业务水平。 因此,运行这些关键应用程序的服务器必须具有内置的冗余能力,以便确保业务连续性。 大多数公司都会实施一定级别的灾难恢复规划,但在使用边缘计算的情况下,执行恢复可能不是理想的选择。

Stratus Technologies 确保边缘计算应用程序的可用性

Stratus Technologies 是可用性技术的领先企业。 我们开创了可以使时刻在线的世界真正时刻在线的解决方案。 Stratus ftServer® 系统用于预防基本业务应用程序和服务出现停机和数据丢失。 使用这些服务器时,无需承担部署和管理其他高可用性和虚拟化软件解决方案所产生的复杂性和费用。 Stratus 的 everRun 是适用于 x86 服务器的停机预防软件。 它能够保持 Windows 和 Linux 应用程序持续正常运行,确保业务的连续性和数据的完整性并获得类似大型机的可用性 – 企业提供容错,而 Express 提供高可用性。 这样,无论您经营的是具有服务器需求的专属商店,还是准备采用可获取的最可靠解决方案,Stratus 都可帮助您在网络边缘实现所需的可用性

Where Critical infrastructure, limited IT staff and availability connect

As corporations grow, they’re finding that their computing infrastructures expand, creating more points of potential failure – none scarier than at the end of the network.  For many companies, it’s at this end of the network – or “Edge” – that their most critical operations occur, whether it’s unmanned machinery operating 24/7/365 or an increasing network of users requiring more processing.  In most cases this part of the infrastructure has little IT Staff on hand to ensure that everything continues to run as planned.  This computing at the edge – aka Edge Computing – poses many challenges for industries such as manufacturing, transportation and telecommunication.  No challenge is bigger than ensuring that the applications (and servers) are always available for their critical operations to run.

Compute needs for edge computing

There are many levels of availability to consider throughout the infrastructure, but with edge computing, top-shelf high availability solutions, and in many cases, fault-tolerant solutions are the only way to ensure the best results.  Edge computing requires multiple levels of compute.  While many of a company’s operations can function and remain flexible due to their proximity – or direct connection – to the data center, applications running at the edge aren’t always able to utilize the compute power and reliability the data center can provide to help ensure data integrity, analyze the information and deliver suggestions necessary for expected operational efficiencies.  The solution that drives edge computing must be able to not only provide the processing power to perform the operation, but also be able to allow the analysis for those that require the data to make improvements on all processes involved.  With properly planned edge computing, less data has to travel the network resulting in less bottlenecks freeing up the infrastructure to bring more computing power to the end of the web it’s creating.

IT simplicity for edge computing

In addition, the staff (if any) typically found managing the operations where edge computing occurs won’t necessarily possess the level of technical expertise required to fix system failures.  Therefore, the servers that run these critical applications must have built in redundancy to ensure business continuity.  Most companies implement some level of disaster recovery planning, but with edge computing recovery might not be an option.

Stratus Technologies ensures availability for edge computing

Stratus Technologies is the leader in availability.  We’ve pioneered solutions that enable the always-on world is exactly that – Always-On.  The Stratus ftServer® systems prevent downtime and data loss for essential business applications and services.  These servers eliminate the complexity and costs of deploying and managing alternative high-availability and virtualization software solutions.  Stratus’ everRun is downtime prevention software for x86 servers.  It ensures business continuity and data integrity by keeping Windows and Linux applications up and running with mainframe like availability – Enterprise offers fault-tolerance while Express offers high availability.  So, whether you’re a proprietary shop with server requirements or you’re ready for the power of the most robust solution available, Stratus will help you ensure availability at the edge.